Twenty-twenty-twenty-four hours to go.

So my 24 Hour Zine Thing got a little out of hand. I may need to finish it during NaNoWriMo. It’s not a novel, though it’s approaching book length rather than zine length. It’s the kids’ version of my zine!

Last year’s 24 Hour Zine got a bit out of hand, too – it was more like a 48 hour zine, It’s Not You, I Just Need Space. (Interplanetary Letters of Love and Rejection.), which is also a Tumblr, and what I was performing from at the Fringe. I do love a quick deadline though- it’s my extreme sport of choice. Although I was disappointed about not completing the 24 Hour Zine challenge in time, I did contribute to a Pussy Riot poetry anthology that the awesome editors put together in a day, for reals, and I just did a zine with a 2-day turnaround for Do It Thissen this week, and it was loads of fun. I got to interview Martin X Russian, Sheffield’s most well known zine writer who covered the post punk scene here in 25 issues of the very old school and quite sarcastic NMX. He also prints my zine, and it’s a total honour. For the zine we did together, I interviewed Martin at his print shop, designed and typed it, and he set it and printed 100 copies for the exhibition. They’re free and there are a few left. It’s about how he went from zine writing to starting his own print business. We get into the relevance of zines, and whether print is a luxury or a necessity. More about that later. For now, after going on so much about 24 Hour zines in the past, I thought I ought to do a status report. Look out for My First Adventures in Menstruating soon.

Leave a Reply

