Shana Tova, Pussy Riot.

This happened today in London. I’m psyched someone decided to use my stencil and I hope this global day of action will have an impact. Someone asked me why I care. I’m a feminist artist supporting other feminist artists.

Pussy Riot London demo poster inc stencil image of band in balaclavas.Since I knew I was going to be performing in Nottingham this evening, I made my contribution last night in the form of a piece at the 20×20 exhibition at Access Space. I used my stencil in kind of an unusual way – you’ll have to head over to check it out, and there are some great pieces on show (best responses to mine: “You know, I’ve just realised – Pussy Riot are totally OWNING Balaclavas right now – they’ve reclaimed them from the IRA” and “Wow! Wow! I love it! Wow! Yes!” Worst response to mine: “Well you can tell what it’s meant to be…”. Overall it’s a fab exhibition. A lot of synaesthesia. A lot of puns. I love a good pun. Access Space is awesome. It’s like a library for technology. And we know how I feel about libraries.

You can use my stencil too, if it’s not for profit and if you don’t take credit for it and let me know where you used it, so I can share your event and feel a little like I helped. Urban Outfitters can’t have it (this is the polite version of that disclaimer, UO…I’ve seen too many examples of stolen art…it is very disheartening). But you are different. You can trace or print it, cut out the white sections, and spray light on dark. It’s very low res because I did it using MS Paint while I had a cold and was a bit post fringe and too tired to find better software. Here it is:

And let’s hope they get their appeal. I’m off to Nottingham (I like Nottingham. It has a vegan burger bar, a lovely zine event put on as part of a Cultural Olympiad that I got to speak at and where I met lovely people and traded so many zines my bag was STUFFED full,  and it also has my friend Steve in it, who is putting on the show and who likes dinosaurs more than I do which is difficult) but tomorrow I will post the reason my 24 hour zine thing failed abysmally this year. It’s a good reason. Don’t worry.

Leave a Reply

