Blog for Choice Day 2010

The writing prompt for Blog for Choice Day 2010 is:

In honor of Dr. George Tiller, who often wore a button that simply read, “Trust Women,” this year’s Blog for Choice question is:

What does Trust Women mean to you?

I should admit now that I’m rubbish at writing to prompts. I was simply going to point you toward this outstanding protest on the plinth by comedian and compere extraordinaire Kate Smurthwaite, which I thoroughly enjoyed reading about after I met her at Feminism in London. It’d be pretty cool if that action ended up in this exhibition, actually (but since it’s opening tomorrow, probably not).

But now, back to that “Trust Women” button…

I’m a huge fan of badges, pins, one-inch buttons…whatever you call them, I like them.  I’ve got a badge that says ‘I Am The Face of Pro-Choice America’. It’s about 2 1/2 inches across. It’s still on the pinboard on my old bedroom door back home with a lot of other badges that made more sense in the US than in the UK. Maybe I’ll go get it next time I visit my parents, though, and put it on.

Would I wear a badge that said ‘Trust Women’? If the rest of the sentence is ‘Trust women enough to legally allow us to have a choice about the termination of a pregnancy.’ then yeah, I would.  For me being pro-choice is about asserting my right to take responsibility for my own well-being.  People that demand control over that seem to be projecting an awful lot of mistrust in my general direction. How about another badge that says ‘Go Trust Yourself’?

One response to “Blog for Choice Day 2010

Leave a Reply

