Sometimes cool stuff just happens.

If you know me, you’ll know that I love cultivating a usual at the diner. (My record is three visits, for those of a competitive nature.) I’ve also had to slowly accept the reality that I’ll probably never have a dish or a drink named after me (not that I haven’t tried, and also probably because I don’t actually know how to cook anything other than toast and salad).  

So I was totally surprised and delighted when the owner of a new bead shop in Sheffield looked at the bracelet I’d put together in her shop and asked me if she could sell it as a kit…called ‘The Chella’.  Fifteen minutes, folks. Seriously.

This is a way cool shop, as well. It’s brand new, and looked so cute that I just kind of wandered in with beady eyes and crafty intent after seeing it out the bus window.   All the beads are in little Ikea juice glasses just like the ones we have at home, and arranged by colour. Bead kits come in jam jars with beads, string or ribbon and instructions. Prices are cheap (cheaper than my old favourite bead shop in Leeds, that used to be in the now totally and putrefactionally gentrified beyond all recognition Corn Exchange), the layout is great (no Bull-In-China-Shop effect fear of knocking over a million seed beads) and Yvonne, the very groovy owner, also sells ribbons in patterns I can only describe as for ‘the discerning feminist punk crafty lady’. 

Presenting…The Chella:

You can make your own, stock up on supplies or buy this kit from Jam Jar Beads in Sheffield (Yvonne has a facebook group and their website is coming soon – stay tuned for updates). I don’t make any money from it – all profits go toward keeping Sheffield crafty.  

I’ve  just realised – there’s nothing menstrual about this post…until now!  I’ve always wanted to make a bracelet indicative of my cycle. It’d have to be a beaded spiral – one colour for period days, another colour for the rest (or a third for ovulation etc if you wanna get fancy) and you could do a whole year…but that’s a lotta stringing, and it may only be beautiful in a space-time synaesthesia kind of way. More zine and period posts later in the week!

Chella

3 responses to “Sometimes cool stuff just happens.

  1. That is so awesome!

  2. Nice one! I’ve been eyeing that place myself. will definitely have to go in now to look at the Chella 🙂

  3. Lovely work! That place sounds like the kind of shop dreams are made of.

Leave a Reply

